Mythruna
April 25, 2024, 12:59:21 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Welcome to the new forums. See "Announcements" for a note for new users.

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How does he reach that Game Performance??  (Read 5834 times)
Exxenmann
Donators

View Profile WWW
« on: May 12, 2012, 11:28:50 PM »

Hi im the new guy Smiley

Im looking forward to see this game released and buy it! Cheesy

But one question really goes through my mind since i saw it...
I am a quite good programmer myself.
I really have written many lines of code in most programming languages
I have also fooled around a lot with JMonkey myself Smiley
BUT how the hell does he reach that performance???

That must be millions of Geometry or Spatial Objects (Blocks) with each 4 Vertices and 6 Faces...
I added 1 million Geometry boxes to the RootNode for fun and it died already at creation with "out of memory" exception...
I cant even imagine the performance if i could have used the fly cam...

How The Hell does he reach that perfect performance?  Huh

I truely appreciate your answers as this leaves me no rest  Wink

"Though I Fly Through the Valley of Death, I Shall Fear No Evil. For I am at 80,000 Feet and Climbing."
- SR-71 USAF base (Kadena, Japan)
pspeed
Administrator

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2012, 12:10:25 AM »

This comes up on the JME forum so often that someone added hover text for "block world" that pops up "Block worlds are not made of boxes".

And they aren't.  They are made of air-facing quads batched into single large meshes.