Mythruna
July 11, 2020, 09:23:51 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Welcome to the new forums. See "Announcements" for a note for new users.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2] 3
  Print  
Author Topic: Fooling around with the Main Menu...  (Read 14478 times)
Michael Musgrove
Donators
Hero Member
***
Posts: 2164



View Profile WWW
« Reply #15 on: August 03, 2013, 11:44:08 AM »

Well Shzylo, couldn't you just imagine seeing land this ingame? I can just picture a snack shack up there.  Cool
I could imagine it in-game in 5 years and I got a new gaming PC Tongue both my desktop and laptop suck, desktop has intel graphics, laptop just has horrible gigahertz (1.3).
Don't judge a PC by its clock speed, lol.
Why can't I?
http://lmgtfy.com/?q=does+clock+speed+matter
Heheh, "clock speed does matter for gaming" <-- my reason to judge. Plus I wasn't judging the PC overall, even though I didn't state it. Also I don't ever plan to take it apart to give it a new processor to speed it up because it would be too much of a hassle.
Logged

belgariad87
Donators
Hero Member
***
Posts: 507


RPG player for life


View Profile
« Reply #16 on: August 04, 2013, 04:54:18 PM »


this has been a part of my BG slideshow for years
Logged

Specs for future reference:
Windows 7 64bit ; Intel Quad Core ; 8GB RAM ; AMD Radeon HD 6800 ; TB HD
Teknonick
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 438


View Profile
« Reply #17 on: August 04, 2013, 07:09:38 PM »


this has been a part of my BG slideshow for years
Yeah. Nevermind on me drawing that. O.O! How is that pixilated? Are you like, on 10,000 by 10,000 background or something? When you play Battlefield, does a car look like it was made in minecraft? O.o
Logged
Michael Musgrove
Donators
Hero Member
***
Posts: 2164



View Profile WWW
« Reply #18 on: August 04, 2013, 07:39:51 PM »

Yeah. Nevermind on me drawing that. O.O! How is that pixilated? Are you like, on 10,000 by 10,000 background or something?
1920x1200

Its decently sized Smiley
Logged

Moonkey
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1587

This is probably a picture.


View Profile
« Reply #19 on: August 05, 2013, 10:48:48 AM »

Yeah. Nevermind on me drawing that. O.O! How is that pixilated? Are you like, on 10,000 by 10,000 background or something?
1920x1200

Its decently sized Smiley
My little brother's laptop screen is 1920x1280. My laptop screen is 1600x900. So when I look at his desktop he has lots of desktop space compared to me. haha
Logged

Mythruna: Don't you dare read any posts I made before 2014.
Teknonick
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 438


View Profile
« Reply #20 on: August 05, 2013, 06:42:37 PM »

Yeah. Nevermind on me drawing that. O.O! How is that pixilated? Are you like, on 10,000 by 10,000 background or something?
1920x1200

Its decently sized Smiley
My little brother's laptop screen is 1920x1280. My laptop screen is 1600x900. So when I look at his desktop he has lots of desktop space compared to me. haha
Haha! You do realise the higher your desktop screen resolution, the laggier games get... fullscreen, or not. Shocked.
Logged
pspeed
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 5577



View Profile
« Reply #21 on: August 05, 2013, 08:23:37 PM »

Yeah. Nevermind on me drawing that. O.O! How is that pixilated? Are you like, on 10,000 by 10,000 background or something?
1920x1200

Its decently sized Smiley
My little brother's laptop screen is 1920x1280. My laptop screen is 1600x900. So when I look at his desktop he has lots of desktop space compared to me. haha
Haha! You do realise the higher your desktop screen resolution, the laggier games get... fullscreen, or not. Shocked.

That shouldn't be true.  If you run a game in full screen at a different resolution then your desktop size shouldn't matter at all.
Logged
Michael Musgrove
Donators
Hero Member
***
Posts: 2164



View Profile WWW
« Reply #22 on: August 06, 2013, 04:28:03 AM »

Not sure if this is off-topic or not, but wouldn't it cause you to lose some FPS at higher resolutions because it has to render at a "higher resolution"?
Logged

pspeed
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 5577



View Profile
« Reply #23 on: August 06, 2013, 04:45:21 AM »

Not sure if this is off-topic or not, but wouldn't it cause you to lose some FPS at higher resolutions because it has to render at a "higher resolution"?

When you are running a game full screen at 640x480 then it doesn't matter if your desktop is 1,000,000,000,000x1,000,000,000,000 because it's not rendering.  Only the full screen is rendering.
Logged
Michael Musgrove
Donators
Hero Member
***
Posts: 2164



View Profile WWW
« Reply #24 on: August 06, 2013, 07:06:39 AM »

Not sure if this is off-topic or not, but wouldn't it cause you to lose some FPS at higher resolutions because it has to render at a "higher resolution"?

When you are running a game full screen at 640x480 then it doesn't matter if your desktop is 1,000,000,000,000x1,000,000,000,000 because it's not rendering.  Only the full screen is rendering.
Oh, yes I believe I get it. It doesn't render more, it will just skew the image to the screen (wrong resolution for fullscreen is really disturbing for me).
Logged

pspeed
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 5577



View Profile
« Reply #25 on: August 06, 2013, 10:09:42 AM »

Not sure if this is off-topic or not, but wouldn't it cause you to lose some FPS at higher resolutions because it has to render at a "higher resolution"?

When you are running a game full screen at 640x480 then it doesn't matter if your desktop is 1,000,000,000,000x1,000,000,000,000 because it's not rendering.  Only the full screen is rendering.
Oh, yes I believe I get it. It doesn't render more, it will just skew the image to the screen (wrong resolution for fullscreen is really disturbing for me).

No.  The video card physically outputs a different resolution and your monitor physically renders a different resolution.  During that time, your computer is running at a different resolution.

Your video card and monitor will support lots of resolutions in full screen.  This has nothing at all to do with the desktop resolution except that the desktop had to also be one of those resolutions.
Logged
Michael Musgrove
Donators
Hero Member
***
Posts: 2164



View Profile WWW
« Reply #26 on: August 06, 2013, 10:24:05 AM »

Not sure if this is off-topic or not, but wouldn't it cause you to lose some FPS at higher resolutions because it has to render at a "higher resolution"?

When you are running a game full screen at 640x480 then it doesn't matter if your desktop is 1,000,000,000,000x1,000,000,000,000 because it's not rendering.  Only the full screen is rendering.
Oh, yes I believe I get it. It doesn't render more, it will just skew the image to the screen (wrong resolution for fullscreen is really disturbing for me).

No.  The video card physically outputs a different resolution and your monitor physically renders a different resolution.  During that time, your computer is running at a different resolution.

Your video card and monitor will support lots of resolutions in full screen.  This has nothing at all to do with the desktop resolution except that the desktop had to also be one of those resolutions.
basically what I meant Tongue

..back on topic? Those backgrounds are actually really cool! Thinking of a good background image to try next Wink
Logged

Moonkey
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1587

This is probably a picture.


View Profile
« Reply #27 on: August 07, 2013, 09:05:28 PM »

Actually it depends on how your laptop screen/computer screen was built and what resolution they support. So, let's say, 3280x2560 screen resolution. If your laptop/computer screen supported it (Not your computer in general) it should run the same as a computer screen that only supported a max of 1600x900.
Logged

Mythruna: Don't you dare read any posts I made before 2014.
pspeed
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 5577



View Profile
« Reply #28 on: August 07, 2013, 10:03:18 PM »

Actually it depends on how your laptop screen/computer screen was built and what resolution they support. So, let's say, 3280x2560 screen resolution. If your laptop/computer screen supported it (Not your computer in general) it should run the same as a computer screen that only supported a max of 1600x900.

You will be affected by fill rate.  It takes longer to draw 3280x2560 pixels than it does to draw 1600x900 pixels.  Whether the rest of the hardware is faster to make up for it is another story... but for games, higher resolution will always be slower than lower resolution.
Logged
Moonkey
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1587

This is probably a picture.


View Profile
« Reply #29 on: August 08, 2013, 02:00:16 PM »

Actually it depends on how your laptop screen/computer screen was built and what resolution they support. So, let's say, 3280x2560 screen resolution. If your laptop/computer screen supported it (Not your computer in general) it should run the same as a computer screen that only supported a max of 1600x900.

You will be affected by fill rate.  It takes longer to draw 3280x2560 pixels than it does to draw 1600x900 pixels.  Whether the rest of the hardware is faster to make up for it is another story... but for games, higher resolution will always be slower than lower resolution.
I thought I was wrong. I plugged in an HDMI cord to our TV and I could display the game I was playing at a higher resolution than my laptop and it ran the same when it was lower.
Logged

Mythruna: Don't you dare read any posts I made before 2014.
Pages: 1 [2] 3
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!